NL Gold Gloves Awards Announced

Ryan Zimmerman earned his first career Gold Glove on Wednesday, succeeding a buddy from his youth, New York Mets' third baseman David Wright. Back when Zimmerman was a shortstop in high school, the two were teammates on a youth team.

Zim led all big league third basemen with 325 assists, becoming just the second Washington player to win the award, joining catcher Earl Battey of the Senators, who won the honor in 1960. Zim's award is especially awesome since he came from a team with the worst fielding percentage in all of baseball. The Nationals also led the league in errors with 143. Awesome.

The Philadelphia Phillies nabbed two Gold Glove positions with Jimmy Rollins at shortstop (his third) and centerfeilder Shane Victorino getting his second straight award. St. Louis Cardinals backstop Yadier Molina and San Diego Padres first baseman Adrian Gonzalez also became second-time winners.

Adam Wainwright, an NL Cy Young contender after his outstanding 19-8, 2.63 ERA season, became the first Cardinal since Joaquin Andujar in 1984 to get a Gold Glove.

Los Angles Dodgers second baseman Orlando Hudson, who did not make a single postseason start after losing playing time to Ronnie Belliard then became a free agent, won for the fourth time, taking over for last year's winner, Cincinnati Reds' Brandon Phillips.

Silver Sluggers will be announced tomorrow, and MLBNetwork is airing the announcements live at 7pm ET.

[MLB] | [Cardinal Beat] | [Macho Row] | [Swing & a Long Drive]

1 comment:

TFischer15260 said...

Shane Victorino got another well deserved Gold Glove using his Akademao Professional glove. For a full line of Akadema Pro gloves go to www.FireFlyBaseball.com.